Picture Post: Mount Everest Base Camp

IMG_1979

I’ve just backed these photos up after a long time of not having a secure copy.. (silly I know) but I thought I would celebrate me overcoming my laziness by sharing some of the photos with you. In early 2013 I went to India on a volunteering trip and being so close in that part of the world I decided to give trekking a try. I thought I’d throw myself right in there and start with a trek to Everest Base Camp.

The trek was 12 days long in the off season (winter!). It got down to minus 20.. and in those tea houses that means it’s actually minus 20. We had no running water and no flushing toilets. But the beauty you’re surrounded by makes all of that worth it. We walked along 30cm wide tracks in a foot of snow.. with a huge drop just besides us.. it was exhilarating. Of course at the time you are thinking “god I know why people say this is a once in a lifetime experience” but once you’re down and you reflect on what you’ve just seen you forget about the tough days and the altitude and you’re ready to go straight back up that mountain. It was amazing, everything I saw on that trip has fast become a bench mark of beauty which I seem to compare everything to now. Trust me the photos don’t do it justice!

IMG_2034

IMG_2019

IMG_2007

IMG_2001

IMG_1991

IMG_2074

IMG_1985

IMG_1983

IMG_1902

IMG_1920

IMG_1925

IMG_1932

IMG_1947

IMG_1975

IMG_1818

IMG_1858

IMG_1897

 

“I may not stand on top of the world, but the top of the world stands before me” – Unknown – written on the wall of a teahouse

 

Leave a Reply

